The Home office is under the duty to detain the following peoples:

  1. Overstayers
  2. Foreign nationals who have committed a crime and sentenced to imprisonment for over 12 months
  3. Illegal entrant
  4. Foreign national entered the United Kingdom clandestinely
  5. Foreign nationals who have been stopped at the Border from entering the United Kingdom
  6. Foreign nationals whose asylum claim, humanitarian protection or permission to remain in the United Kingdom has been refused.


There may be other reasons and the home office will provide you with the written decision of the reasons for detention.